Honoring Amy Sequenzia #PACLAOWies

Parenting Autistic Children With Love & Acceptance is excited to reveal the fourth OWie Award in April!  

Awarded to Autistic Activists who are changing the conversations and shifting the Overton Window toward acceptance!

Honoring- (3)

Image: blue/green certificate with green filigree frame.  Top left is stamp of PACLA icon.  Bottom of image is watermarked with an arrow shooting through an open window.   Green text in multiple fonts reads: Honoring Amy Sequenzia in appreciation of your radical activism & shifting the Overton Window toward Autism Acceptance & the Neurodiversity Paradigm.  Thank You!       Parenting Autistic Children With Love & Acceptance

 

Congratulations, Amy Sequenzia!

 

Amy  had the second highest amount of nominations for an OWie award!  We love Amy and she is also a part of the PACLA moderating team.  In addition to PACLA, Amy writes for Autism Women’s Network, Ollibean and at her blog NonSpeaking Autistic Speaking, and is a leader in the grassroots Boycott Autism Speaks Movement.  

 

From Amy’s bio:

I am a non-speaking Autistic activist, writer and poet. Once said to be less than human, I found my voice and I now make sure I am heard.

I have epilepsy, which sucks and slows me down but does not stop me, and cerebral palsy, which does not suck.

I look and am very disabled but I have self-determination, my thoughts are my own and my words flow from my brain through my fingers to the screen. I need help with the rest.

NeuroQueer, human rights activist, civil rights activist, disabilities rights activist.

Neurodivergent.

Disabled.

Autistic.

Proud.

 

Amy is also a published poet.  Her young fan, Fallon says this about Amy and her poem “Respect”:

My favorite in the book is “Respect”.   One of the reasons I like this book is because the poet has disabilities, like me.   For one thing, we are both Autistic.  It actually makes me feel good.  I guess you could say that we are both pretty smart.  

“Respect”  teaches what is the name of the poem.  Sometimes, she might not feel respected.  Sometimes, I feel that way too.  I think she knows that she is perfect the way she is.  Maybe people without disabilities don’t think that about us sometimes.

An anonymous parent who nominated Amy for the award had this to say:


Her writings really helped me stand up for my daughter in many situations. She really made me re learn everything I had learned about anything. You all have 🙂 but there’s one article that sticks out in my mind that really changed everything for me. She was talking about a sad incident in her life/ but it made me realize the bad info and how I’d fight my hardest for my daughter to get respectful education/therapy and relationships.

But I’m so thankful for her writings. I’m so sorry for the injustices that have been done to her. She’s extremly brave for sharing. I’m nervous just writing this nomination..😬. But long story short/ she woke me up and made me aware.

Thank you, Amy for your work, your writing and your activism that is shifting the window and making a better world for Autistic people every day!

About Lei

PACLA is an Autistic friendly space dedicated to guiding parents toward respectful supports and accommodations for their Autistic children through the concepts of gentle parenting and a belief in the value of neurodiversity.

Posted on April 22, 2016, in Parenting Autistic Children with Love and Acceptance. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

