When E Was 2 by Megen Porter

Megen wrote a beautiful poem about her love for her Autistic daughter and her journey towards acceptance:

 

 

When E was 2

 
 

Before E was 2

Autism was tragic

My baby was beautiful

 
 

Before E was 2

Autism was an epidemic

My baby’s laugh was (is) pure joy

 
 

Before E was 2

Autism was stealing people’s children

My baby was right here, telling me all the letters of the alphabet

 
 

Before E was 2

Autism was a soulless burden

My baby was chubby love incarnate

 
 

After E was 2

Autism was someone else

My baby was delightfully unique

 
 

After E was 2

Autism was coming

My baby was too good for labels

 
 

After E was 2

Autism was here

My baby is Autistic

 
 

Autism is Beautiful.

 
 

White text reads:  "My baby is Autistic Autism is beautiful" -Megen Porter text is on purple textured background

White text reads: “My baby is Autistic
Autism is beautiful” -Megen Porter
text is on purple textured background

About Lei

PACLA is an Autistic friendly space dedicated to guiding parents toward respectful supports and accommodations for their Autistic children through the concepts of gentle parenting and a belief in the value of neurodiversity.

Posted on April 1, 2015, in Parenting Autistic Children with Love and Acceptance. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

